Return to site


Welcome to Barangay Manguiles, Municipality of Mahayag, Zamboanga del Sur!


Mahayag is known to be a 3rd class municipality in the province of Zamboanga del Sur. It has a total land area of 19, 490 hectares with various plain and mountainous areas. It is subdivided into 29 barangays: Bag-ong Balamban, Bag-ong Dalaguete, Boniao, Delusom, Diwan, Guripan, Kaangayan, Kabuhi, Lourmah (Lower Mahayag), Lower Salug Daku, Lower Sto. Nino, Malubo, Manguiles, Marababon (Balanan), Panagaan, Paraiso, Pedagan, Poblacion (Upper Mahayag), Pugwan, San Isidro, San Jose, San Vicente, Santa Cruz, Sicpao, Tuboran, Tulan, Tumapic, Upper Salug Daku, and Upper Sto. Nino.

Barangay Manguiles is bounded by Barangay Paraiso on the north, Barangay Sta. Cruz on the south, the municipality of Dumingag on the west, and Barangay Boniao on the east. It is approximately 20 kilometers away from the Mahayag Municipal Hall. It has a total land area of 1, 260 hectares of which 25% of this is flat and 75% is slope. It is further divided into five (5) zones or purok. The puroks are identified as Purok 1, Purok 2, Purok 3, Purok 4, and Purok 5. The primary soil types of the barangay are San Miguel silt loam and San Manuel loam. The barangay experiences both dry and wet seasons.

Mahayag came from the root word hayag, which in Visayan dialect means glowing or glaring. The Visayan occupants settled into the heavily forested area during the post-war era. As the folks narrated, a large “Dao” tree grew at the town site that illuminated the whole place giving rise to the expression “mahayag”.

Mahayag became a municipality on March 9, 1960, pursuant to Executive Order No. 393 by former President Carlos P. Garcia. It used to be under the jurisdiction of the Municipality of Molave. The early settlers appealed for the creation of another municipality in order to accelerate its advancement which was achieved through political subdivision.

Barangay Manguiles was created in the year 1953. Tingkisan Banguis, the first person who came in the place, called the barangay as “Manguiles” because the place is sandy or “balas-balason”. The name originated from the Subanen language.

The Sangguniang Barangay of Manguiles, the legislative body of the barangay, is composed of the Barangay Captain as the presiding officer and regular Sangguniang Barangay members. The development of the barangay is using a participatory process through the Barangay Development Council. The Barangay Government Structure of Manguiles is composed of the barangay council, the local special bodies, and different committees. The local special bodies play a vital role in the development planning of the barangay and the community as a whole. The local special bodies organized in the barangay are as follows:

  • Barangay Peace and Order Committee (BPOC)
  • Barangay Disaster Coordinating Council (BDCC)
  • Barangay Anti-drug Abuse Council (BADAC)
  • Barangay Health Workers (BHW’s)
  • Barangay Nutrition Scholar (BNS)
  • Barangay Council for the Protection of Children (BCPC)
  • Barangay Nutrition Committee (BNC)
  • Barangay Health Emergency Responsive Team (BHERT)
  • Barangay Human Rights Action Officer (BHRAO)
  • Barangay Tanod
Look at their Barangay Organizational Structure below!
Barangay Manguiles Organizational Structure
SuperManguiles' first-ever meeting with the Barangay Council members
All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly